How Long Must We Wait?

My wife (Diana Bermejo Bordas) and I, we have a common marriage … Common? I think I exaggerated, it would be better to say, commonly punished in a cruel separation.

Let me explain: We are both have visas as of November 24, 2009. We began the process of emigration on January 23, 2010 at the office of Immigration and Aliens in our town.

After 30 days, the length of time required by the immigration officials, we returned to the official agency. On that occasion we were informed that our request was still “in process”. We repeated the visits several times and several times they repeated their answer.

On March 16, a senior Interior Ministry official told us with absolute arrogance that my “exit permit” does not authorize me but that of my wife does her. On April 2, 2010 she was awarded her license, thus imposing – as on so many Cubans – the notorious family separation.

And I want to ask: What government or dictatorship sanctions its citizens with such great impunity? Who gave this government the power to decide about my private union or family separation? How long must we wait?

It is a flagrant violation of my rights. My country is a signatory to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. We demand they comply with it.

Ricardo Aguilar García

Calle 29 C número 7208 entre 72 y 74, Buenavista, Municipio Playa, Ciudad Habana.

Telephone (53-7) 207 16 14

e-mail omrag2@yahoo.com

~ by Juan Juan Almeida on April 29, 2010.

 
