How Can I Send a Photo to Havana?

I am 45 years old. I was born on January 5, 1965. My name is Bernardo Rogelio Arevalo. My wife’s name is Libertad Acosta Diaz.

On the November 18, 1997, I was sentenced for contempt against the figures of Fidel Castro and Carlos Lage. One, retired; the other, destroyed. I was let out of the penitentiary on the November 13, 2003; but as I always say, I keep paying another penalty: being denied the right to legally leave my country.

In 2004, I was taken on by the World Refugee Program, but they revoked my visa, even though I already had a travel date, because some officials of the U.S. Interests Section in Cuba listened to the rumours that were circulated by undercover (and very well instructed) agents of Cuban Intelligence. Rumors that, to start with, were malicious and linked my name with undercover activities of the Ministry of the Interior (MININT).

On November 15, 2007, I was literally kidnapped, and I was taken to the Operations Department of the province of Cienfuegos where they asked me to become a collaborator. They suggested that I disguise myself as an MININT official with the rank of Major. I refused, and the official who was interrogating me  — some Lieutenant Colonel ‘Guerra’ from Villa Marista — threatened me with death, but even so I still did not accept.

Since August 10, 2009, I have had a visa to travel to Switzerland, and even though I began the process to request the ‘Carta Blanca’ (White Letter – official permission to leave Cuba) from the Cuban authorities, on October 20 of the same year, I always get the same response: ‘For the moment, your case has not been duly approved’.

I ask from you to please interest yourself in my case, and in the case of other people who, for one reason or another, give our testimony on this blog.

For more information, you can visit my home, which is also yours: Pimargall Number 40, between Panchito Gomez and Aguero. Aguada de Pasajeros, Cienfuegos, Cuba. Or you can call me on 535-2623602

Thank you.

Translated by LM from Euroclub, London.

~ by Auto Post on March 22, 2010.

 
