My Husband is on Hunger Strike

My name is Yolanda Triana Estupinan.  My son Victoriano already has previous penal citations for the sole reason of just being my son.  He was expelled from school just for visiting his father when he was jailed in the prison of East Combinado.

My husband is Orlando Fundora Alvarez, one of the 75 prisoners of the Black Spring of 2003, today in “liberty” under an extrapenal license due to his deplorable state of health.  He has suffered three heart attacks and three cerebral attacks and also suffers from bone, kidney, and prostrate problems.  He does not have access to the health system nor to medicines.  He doesn’t have access to social security.  We are alive almost by a miracle.  Friends help us.  For a long time now I have been waiting for an appointment to have an investigative exam on him in the Hermanos Ameijeiras Hospital and I still have not received an answer.

Our situation is chaotic, we live in subhuman conditions.

We were admitted into the international program of refugees which is offered by the US government but the Cuban government refuses to let is leave.  The Spanish government, through their embassy in Havana, sent us a letter (which I keep) on October 27 of 2009 which offers solidarity and also intends to intercede in our situation but the Cuban government continues to not listen and to ignore.

Since March 10th of 2010 my husband is on hunger strike and his demands are simple:

– Freedom for the political prisoners.

– A solution for the 26 jailed brothers who find themselves in critical health conditions.

– Freedom of expression.

– Respect of Human Rights in Cuba.

Yes, simple requests, none of which we would have to ask for if we lived in a democratic country.

I ask for international solidarity, I ask for your prayers.  The government doctors have not passed by the house when, in fact, they are well aware of the desperate situation.

This is an urgent call.  I need to be in contact with the world of people who listen.  Please, call our number- (535) 264-4257.

My address is Sofia 330 between Carlos y Maria Luisa.  Municipal of Arroyo Naranjo.  City of Havana.  Cuba.

Translated by Raul G.

~ by Juan Juan Almeida on March 15, 2010.

 
