. . . they skewered me this past January, I cannot leave the country.

My name is Juan Mario Rodriguez Guillen, born in Havana on June 24, 1962. I am married Mrs. Bello Edurnis Ramirez, mother of little Angie Laura Spengler Bennett and I have a fourteen-year-old son named Yadriel Rodríguez Guzmán who lives with his mother in the province of Matanzas. I live at Number 10 Tenth Street, between 1st and 5th, Alcazar District, Municipality of Arroyo Naranjo, Havana, Cuba.

In 2003 I joined the opposition Martí Civic League. Later I was a member of the Liberal Party of Cuba, affiliated with Liberal International. In November 2004 I started to work with Cuba Miscellany Magazine. I have alternated this work with being an independent librarian, affiliated with the Independent Libraries Project of Cuba.

I’ve been arrested on numerous occasions by the State Security Department and threatened with jail for defending my political ideas that are contrary to the Castro ideology. Therefore I was welcomed by the Refugee Program of the government of the United States of America and approved on June 4, 2008 to enter, along with my family, the territory of that great country.

Since then I have waited for the Immigration Department of the Interior Ministry to give me permission (a “White Card”) to leave. To date they have not done so, saying that I cannot travel at the moment, that my paperwork is not completed, or as they skewered me this past January, that I cannot leave the country.

Contact capitolio1900@gmail.com

Translated by: Tomás A.

~ by Juan Juan Almeida on March 1, 2010.

 
