Anyway, they always throw us into the sea . . .

I have a 14-year-old son named Dayron Sarduy Jova, and a wife whom I love, Amparo Jova Hart. My name is Joaquin Sarduy Gomez. As you can see, our family is small.

We live in Luyano Road, El Lucero Community, Km ½, apt. 21, Mantilla, Arroyo Naranjo, Havana, Cuba. I have no phone at home but I can be reached via e-mail through my friend Sergio Pastor: carrazanalibertad@yahoo.com

We have been repressed by the incalculable power of a dictatorial regime. And when I could not take it anymore, and in order to care for my family, I applied for political asylum in the office of the United States Interests Section in Cuba. On May 19, 2009, we were all welcomed by the World Refugee Program offered there.

In June 2009 we began the procedures established by the Office of Immigration and Foreigners assigned to our area of residence, but the officials in charge only kept repeating “You still are not authorized to leave the country.”

This continued for months until in January 2010, the Cuban immigration authorities – and I think it’s a trick – authorized the “Exit Permit” for my wife and my son. And so, as if life were a dream (and I say “like” because, according to Calderón, our dreams are dreams), I was told, as “Father” of my son I could write a “comprehensive power of attorney” authorizing him to emigrate. And arguing with total impudence, that I still have not been approved by “The Immigration Selection Process.”

At this point I hope that the government of my country does not take pleasure in a “Selection Process” for dividing families — to separate children from parents, to move wives away from husbands. I desire that the Cuban authorities will one day allow us to emigrate in exactly the way they collect the “Migration Agreements”: in a legal, orderly and safe process.

Anyway, they always throw us into the sea … but this option is not “legal” nor “orderly” nor “safe.”

Translated by: Tomás A.

~ by Juan Juan Almeida on February 11, 2010.

 
