My name is Laura Pollan, I live at 963 Neptuno. I am a Lady in White.

I have been denied permission to leave Cuba on repeated occasions. But if leaving depends upon compromising my pledge to march on, asking for the liberty of our political prisoners, I opt to not leave, and to stay with those who are with me.

There are those who do not share our position, I know that. People who boo and insult us, I understand them. But all of us have the same right to express ourselves freely. They, and we also. That is democracy. And there are many that support us and show their love.

We Ladies in White cannot do more than walk and ask for the liberty of our husbands, children, family, friends, acquaintances.  For all the political prisoners.

Translated by ricote

~ by Auto Post on March 30, 2010.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

