That “Ferry” that Unjustly Led Three of the Condemned to the Firing Squad


My name is Julia Estrella Aramburo Taboas; I live at Aguila #386 between Gloria and Corrales, in Old Havana, Havana, Cuba.  For more information you can email me at: juliaestrella2007@yahoo.es

I presented my case to the World Program for Refugees of the government of the United States.  I was looking for a door to escape, to make my voice heard, a light at the end of the tunnel, help, hope, a small palliative to ease the martyrdom, move walls, break down doors.  But I can’t nor do I want to abandon this country leaving behind my son and my nephew, nor any of the others who wake up every day in this horrible nightmare.  I am a mother.

My name is not important; but I am sure you remember that in April of 2003, a group of several boys, with the sole objective of leaving the country, and without thinking of the consequences (desperate and immature boys) tried to hijack a ferry.  That “Ferry” that unjustly led three of the condemned to be executed by firing squad.  My son and nephew were not shot; today they are serving a life sentence in inhumane conditions.

Along with my story I sent a letter to the Prosecutor with a copy to various authorities.

I need your help.

Thank you.

~ by Juan Juan Almeida on February 18, 2010.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

